Sunday, November 28, 2010

England Under the Tudor Monarchs


1455  Wars of the Roses between the House of Lancaster and House of York
1485  Henry Tudor, of the House of Lancaster, defeats Richard III, of the House of York, and ends the War of the Roses
1485—1509  Reign of Henry VII

1509  Henry VIII becomes King

1515 Thomas Wolsey named Archbishop of Canterbury
1526 William Tyndale’s English New Testament reaches England
1527  Archbishop Wolsey petitions Pope Clement VII for an annulment of Henry’s marriage to Catherine of Aragon
1529  Wolsey dismissed by Henry
1529  Parliament summoned by Henry to formalize the establishment of the Catholic Church of England
1535 Sir Thomas More, author of Utopia, executed
1547 Young Edward VI becomes King

1553  Mary Tudor (Bloody Mary) becomes Queen following the death of King Edward VI.  300 English Protestants are martyred and 800 flee to the continent.

1558—1603  Reign of Queen Elizabeth I of England.  The Elizabethan Compromise

1588 The Defeat of the Spanish Armada
1603  James VI of Scotland (son of Mary Stuart, Queen of Scots, and cousin of Elizabeth I) becomes James I of England

No comments:

Post a Comment